Abeo' Speaks: A Moment In The Life………….

A Peek Inside The Mind of Abeo'

“Why you doin’ community service? You on probation or sumthin’?” August 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Abeo' @ 8:42 PM
Tags: , , ,

Yes, that was the question that was asked to me by a co-worker when I told him I was helping a local organization clean up a vacant house that they own. Why do we have this mentality that the only time that we should do any type of community service is when you’re on probation? Do we understand that it’s up to us to help our own community? We are so quick to say “oh we don’t have this, we don’t have that”, but what are we doing to help ourselves. That would solve alot of problems we have today. Stop waiting on a superhero to save you and save yourself.

I think it’s interesting when people are giving community service as a punishment. “You have to help your people for 300 hrs.” I stand proud when I say I do community service. It is my obligation and I enjoy it. I have no problem with going out and cleaning up a park, helping the elderly, working in a soup kitchen, volunteering at my place of worship or whatever. I am my community so therefore I am helping myself.

We as a people can not expect to move forward unless we begin to give back to the community the gives to us.

 

2 Responses to ““Why you doin’ community service? You on probation or sumthin’?””

  1. Glennisha Says:

    You know what Malikah I love this post! Why is community service given as a punishment. Maybe this is something that should be proposed to the court system but, then again maybe it is good. Even tho it’s given as a punishment it may be meant to be given to show people positive things to do instead of doing negative. In doing community service a lot of people end up feeling good and grow to like giving back. It’s crazy that the majority of people associate community service with punishment as a part of being charged with something.

  2. abeospeaks Says:

    Amen sista!!!


Leave a comment